Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

Is there a way to dump a whole page as text file (the way NVDA perceives it, kind of like the speech viewer)? #5010

Closed
nvaccessAuto opened this issue Mar 31, 2015 · 30 comments

Comments

@nvaccessAuto
Copy link

Reported by jmuheim on 2015-03-31 11:50
I am a non-blind accessibility consultant, and I test a lot of websites using NVDA.

I usually forego the speech synthesiser functionalities of NVDA and rely on the speech log only, as I can see there much clearer and quicker what is relevant to me.

It's a bit cumbersome though to browse through pages again and again, so often times I wish I could simply dump the whole page content (the way NVDA perceives it) into a text file.

Is there something like this? Thank you.

@nvaccessAuto
Copy link
Author

Comment 1 by jmuheim on 2015-03-31 11:51
This sort of is similar to disabling CSS using Web developer toolbar in Firefox or Chrome, but still respecting display:none etc., the same way NVDA interprets it.

@nvaccessAuto
Copy link
Author

Comment 2 by Palacee_hun on 2015-04-01 10:43
Not a perfect solution, but maybe worth trying:
Press Ctrl+Home on the page you want to test to go to the top, then press NVDA+down arrow (continuous reading), wait a bit, then browse the output in speech viewer. If I am not mistaken, speech viewer should capture the whole page contents from top to bottom as NVDA sees it.

@nvaccessAuto
Copy link
Author

Comment 3 by jmuheim on 2015-04-01 10:49
This is what I'm doing right now. I hope there is a better solution. But thanks anyway.

@nvaccessAuto
Copy link
Author

Comment 4 by peter (in reply to comment 3) on 2015-04-01 20:16